Appetites and Wisdom – Proverbs 23

Read the Passage: Proverbs 23

Listen to The Redeemed Mind Podcast: Proverbs 23

Beware of Envy (23:1–8)

Given mankind’s fallen nature, one of the temptations with which we often struggle is controlling our human appetites (e.g., food, drink, sex, sleep, etc.). Furthermore, we often struggle over envying others who have a greater ability than us to gratify their own desires. Continue reading Appetites and Wisdom – Proverbs 23

Concluding Admonitions – Ephesians 6:10–24

Read the Passage: Ephesians 6:10–24

Spiritual Warfare (6:10–13)

After giving specific teaching on marriage and family, as well as on vocation, Paul turns at the end of his letter to the Ephesian church to address the topic of spiritual warfare. In Eph. 6:10–20 Paul explains that while believers already have victory over Satan through the cross of Christ, in our present earthly lives, temptation to sin will persist. Continue reading Concluding Admonitions – Ephesians 6:10–24

Work of the Spirit – Romans 8

Read the Passage: Romans 8

Listen to The Redeemed Mind Podcast: Romans 8

Flesh and Spirit (8:1–11)

Recall in Romans 7 Paul had taught that believers are “dead to the law through the body of Christ” (Rom. 7:4). Since the law no longer has judicial power over Christians, Paul now writes, “There is therefore now no condemnation to whose who are in Christ Jesus” (Rom. 8:1). Note that Paul had only referred to the Holy Spirit four times in Romans 1–7; yet, the Spirit is mentioned twenty-two times in Romans 8 alone. Paul’s teaching in this chapter is that just as it is the Holy Spirit who justifies, so it is the Holy Spirit who sanctifies. Observe that Paul refers to the flesh nine times in Romans 8, included once in every verse between Rom. 8:3–9. Continue reading Work of the Spirit – Romans 8

The Fall of Babylon – Revelation 17–18

Read the Passage:  Revelation 17-18

Reminder: The book of Revelation is structured around seven parallel sections, each describing the time between Jesus’ first and second comings. These sections can be delineated into chapters 1–3, 4–7, 8–11, 12–14, 15–16, 17–19, and 20–22. Continue reading The Fall of Babylon – Revelation 17–18