Greetings and Glory – 2 Thessalonians 1

Read the Passage: 2 Thessalonians 1

Greetings and Grace (1:1–2)

As was the case with Paul’s first letter to the Thessalonian church, so his second epistle is pastoral in nature, as here Paul comforts the church and addresses their concerns about Jesus’ return. Continue reading Greetings and Glory – 2 Thessalonians 1

The Day of the Lord – 1 Thessalonians 5

Read the Passage: 1 Thessalonians 5

Readiness (5:1–11)

Just as Paul had reminded the Thessalonians earlier, “You received from us how you ought to walk” (1 Thess. 4:1), so in 1 Thess. 5:1 Paul again notes, “You have no need that I should write to you.” Continue reading The Day of the Lord – 1 Thessalonians 5

Purity, Love, and Hope – 1 Thessalonians 4

Read the Passage: 1 Thessalonians 4

Personal Purity (4:1–8)

While the book of 1 Thessalonians is only five chapters in length, as Paul begins chapter four, he finally starts to address questions raised by the church. Indeed, it may be helpful to view chapters one through three as a type of lengthy introduction, for Paul begins chapter four writing, “Finally then, brethren . . .” (1 Thess. 4:1). Continue reading Purity, Love, and Hope – 1 Thessalonians 4

Walking in Wisdom – Ephesians 5:15–21

Read the Passage: Ephesians 5:15-21

Walk Carefully (5:15–16)

Paul begins his encouragement about walking in wisdom with this exhortation, “See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil” (Eph. 5:15–16). Continue reading Walking in Wisdom – Ephesians 5:15–21

The Worthy Walk – Ephesians 5:1–14

Read the Passage: Ephesians 5:1-14

Exhortation (5:1–2)

Earlier, at Eph. 4:1, Paul exhorted his readers to “walk worthy of the calling with which you were called.” In the rest of Ephesians 4 Paul wrote generally about the worthy walk, as he explained how such a walk is aided by spiritual gifts (cf. Eph. 4:7–16) and made possible via regeneration (cf. Eph. 4:17–24). Continue reading The Worthy Walk – Ephesians 5:1–14

Sanctification – Ephesians 4:17–32

Read the Passage: Ephesians 4:17-32

The Old Man (4:17–19)

Earlier, as Paul began the application section of the book of Ephesians, he exhorted his readers toward sanctification, instructing them to “walk worthy of the calling with which you were called” (Eph. 4:1). In the rest of this letter, Paul gives details about the worthy walk, which displays the unity of believers in Christ. Continue reading Sanctification – Ephesians 4:17–32

Saved by Grace – Ephesians 2:1–10

Read the Passage: Ephesians 2:1-10

The Need of Salvation (2:1–3)

In Eph. 1:3–14 Paul wrote about several themes relating to salvation as he addressed predestination, adoption, redemption, and sealing by the Holy Spirit. Beginning in Eph. 2:1, Paul continues to explain aspects of salvation as he explains to his readers, “And you He made alive, who were dead in trespasses and sins.” Continue reading Saved by Grace – Ephesians 2:1–10

Paul’s Prayer – Ephesians 1:15–23

Read the Passage: Ephesians 1:15-23

Declaration (1:15–16)

This passage contains the first of two prayers that Paul gives in the book of Ephesians, the other being at Eph. 3:14–21. Initially, it may seem strange that Paul would offer a prayer immediately after his teaching about predestination in Eph. 1:3–14. Continue reading Paul’s Prayer – Ephesians 1:15–23

Sin and Righteousness – Romans 6

Read the Passage: Romans 6

Listen to The Redeemed Mind Podcast: Romans 6

Dead to Sin (6:1–14)

Having explained the doctrine of justification in Rom. 3:21–5:21, beginning in Rom. 6:1 Paul unfolds the doctrine of sanctification as he explores the impact of the gospel upon the life of a believer. In Rom. 6:1–2 Paul anticipates his critics’ objection to his teaching on salvation by faith alone as he asks two rhetorical questions. Continue reading Sin and Righteousness – Romans 6

The Fall of Babylon – Revelation 17–18

Read the Passage:  Revelation 17-18

Reminder: The book of Revelation is structured around seven parallel sections, each describing the time between Jesus’ first and second comings. These sections can be delineated into chapters 1–3, 4–7, 8–11, 12–14, 15–16, 17–19, and 20–22. Continue reading The Fall of Babylon – Revelation 17–18